A Raven’s Journal- Three: The Body

This stone river’s song is not only separate from, but outright defiant against the Claymother. It follows no harmony. It branches, curves, rises and falls all on its own accord. I assumed it would surely end as it approached a steep rock wall, but it went through the cliffside. Through. 

Night is upon me. I have lost the water. I am sorry, Partner. It is just us and the stone river and the towering conifers. I feel unwell. Perhaps it is the smell of death nearby. Perhaps it is the hunger I have abandoned. Death can mean food if it’s fresh enough.

I follow the smell to a furry heap resting the smooth stone surface. No, “resting” is the wrong word. This creature, perhaps once a raccoon, has been obliterated. Something ripped it open and threw its innards about in a random spray, claiming nothing for nourishment. Here on this lifeless stone, no worms may find it, no fungus grows; the raccoon’s gory death is suspended in time.

Though it pains me to admit, that bobcat was more respectful to you, Partner. I am glad you did not die this way. This is death without renewal. This screams directly in the face of the Claymother.

I must eat it to correct this tragedy.

 

 

 

Leave a comment